First ride in the mutt...

a place to discuss anything of interest to owners of M151 jeeps

Moderators: rickf, raymond, Mr. Recovery

Caster
Sergeant
Sergeant

First ride in the mutt...

Unread post by Caster » June 10th, 2014, 11:40 am

Me and the wife took the first ride in the mutt over the weekend. GOOD LORD!!!! What rattlin' shakin' clatterin, Millennium Falcon bucket of bolts this thing is!!!

I guess it Did okay though. I developed a valve cover leak, discovered it's warped a little and needs a thin layer of black rtv silicone and good stiff rap from my fist to get it to sit down. No leaks now.

The biggest improvement was pulling off those godawful bias ply tires. I work in the family business which is a used tire shop, so that was an easy fix. I put on a good used set of Firestone Transforce HT LT225/75/16. Computer balanced and I ran the air pressure a little low at 30psi. It rides better on an order of magnitude!! I don't even have to hold on to the steering wheel with a two handed white knuckle grip any more. LOL!!

I still have some bugs to work out but we're moving!
Right now I need to try to find out why I get this loud bang/clang noise when I first mash the clutch and start to decelerate. And, every so often, it will refuse to start. I can give it small squirt of starting fluid and it'll fire right up and run just fine. May be a sticky float??

rickf
General
General

Re: First ride in the mutt...

Unread post by rickf » June 10th, 2014, 12:07 pm

First problem may be motor mounts and second problem, are you using the choke? There is no accelerator pump when not running so to get the gas to start you sometimes need choke, even when hot.
1964 M151A1
1984 M1008
1967 M416
04/1952 M100
12/1952 M100- Departed
AN/TSQ-114A Trailblazer- Gone

Caster
Sergeant
Sergeant

Unread post by Caster » June 10th, 2014, 3:04 pm