HELP

This is the place to get help with technical matters concerning your M151 jeep

Moderators: rickf, raymond, Mr. Recovery

CaptB
Corporal
Corporal

HELP

Unread post by CaptB » July 21st, 2018, 12:44 am

H guys, I am new to the world of mutts. Bought myself a 1975 A2 ex Greek Army and for the first few weeks it ran like a dream. It then started cutting out on me after about a mile, let it sit for 5 minutes and it started up again no problem, but would then cut out after a short distance. I have changed the fuel pump, the coil and the condenser. It started yesterday on the first crank, ran for 20 minutes with the hand throttle out, idled for 10 minutes never missed a beat. Took it down the road and about the exact same place it cut out on me again. Any ideas as it's driving me mad

Mark
Brigadier General
Brigadier General

Re: HELP

Unread post by Mark » July 21st, 2018, 1:53 am

fuel filter, something in gas tank, fuel pump, float in carburetor??? I've had similar problem caused by the previous.The trick was catching at the moment of failure. Also I had points cause the same behavior
mark

1968 m274A5
1960 m151
1981 m151A2
1964 m416
1971 m416

m3a1
Lt. General
Lt. General

Unread post by m3a1 » July 21st, 2018, 2:16 am

Welcome. You came to the right place. Be of good cheer. You have a runner and that's half the battle, right there.

First, attempt to isolate the problem. Let's start with fuel delivery since you swapped in a fuel pump. I'm assuming there was a reason for that. My suggestion is that you get a can of starting fluid and keep it in the truck. As soon as it conks out, pull the elbow off the carb, give it a generous shot, slip the elbow back on and see if it will start again. Doesn't matter if won't KEEP running because a shot of starting fluid is just a shot and it's gonna run out....but, if it starts after adding the ether, you have very likely identified a fuel delivery problem.