Putting a A2 wiring harness on a 63

This is the place to get help with technical matters concerning your M151 jeep

Moderators: rickf, Mr. Recovery, raymond, moose53

Putting a A2 wiring harness on a 63

Sponsor

Sponsor
 

Putting a A2 wiring harness on a 63

Postby acudanut » September 7th, 2018, 11:13 am

Is there a thread here that talks about what modifications need to be done. ?? Any wire numbers that do not match and how hard is it to do the dash ?
Time to expect ?

Thanks :!: :!:
acudanut
USMC Gunny
USMC Gunny
 
7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership
 
Posts: 627
Joined: April 12th, 2011, 11:50 am
Location: Land of OZ, KANSAS

Re: Putting a A2 wiring harness on a 63

Postby Fil Bonica » September 7th, 2018, 1:24 pm

Some questions first.
Alternator or generator?
Electric or mechanical fuel pump?
I
If it is an alternator and mechanical fuel pump then just use the A2 wiring diagram as a beginning.
Additionally, there will be mods becessary for thr front and rear turn sugnals.
You will need a 151 or A1 print to interpret.
/

Fil Bonica
K1ABW
Fil Bonica
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership
 
Posts: 2458
Joined: December 9th, 2007, 9:49 am
Location: Falmouth, MA

Re: Putting a A2 wiring harness on a 63

Postby acudanut » September 10th, 2018, 4:14 pm

"If it is an alternator and mechanical pump''. Never heard of an alternator (only Generator) on a M-151 ??? But...Don't say never...
acudanut
USMC Gunny
USMC Gunny
 
7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership
 
Posts: 627
Joined: April 12th, 2011, 11:50 am
Location: Land of OZ, KANSAS

Re: Putting a A2 wiring harness on a 63

Postby Mark » September 10th, 2018, 5:40 pm

my 1960 m151 has a 60 amp alternator on it, but of course that is not original.I do have a 25 amp generator somewhere, I was going to make it original but didn't I did have 3 or 4 of the breadbox regulators, but not anymore I think
Last edited by Mark on September 11th, 2018, 12:52 am, edited 2 times in total.
mark


1968 m274A5
1960 m151
1976 m151A2
1964 m416
1971 m416
Mark
Major
Major
 
9 years of membership9 years of membership9 years of membership9 years of membership9 years of membership9 years of membership9 years of membership9 years of membership9 years of membership
 
Posts: 1158
Joined: September 19th, 2009, 10:33 pm

Re: Putting a A2 wiring harness on a 63

Postby Fil Bonica » September 10th, 2018, 5:42 pm

As was Said in prior post using an alternator with an A2 harness makes things much easier to install .

Fil Bonica
K1ABW
Fil Bonica
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership
 
Posts: 2458
Joined: December 9th, 2007, 9:49 am
Location: Falmouth, MA

Re: Putting a A2 wiring harness on a 63

Postby rickf » September 10th, 2018, 6:31 pm

acudanut wrote:"If it is an alternator and mechanical pump''. Never heard of an alternator (only Generator) on a M-151 ??? But...Don't say never...

This will make it easy to understand, Only the 25 amp unit is a generator that produces DC voltage. All of the rest of the charging units the M series uses are alternators that produce AC voltage that is converted to DC voltage through the use of built in diodes. 25 amp + generator, 60 amp and up = alternator.
1964 M151A1
1984 M1008
1967 M416
04/1952 M100
12/1952 M100- Departed
AN/TSQ-114A Trailblazer- Gone
rickf
General
General
 
10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership
 
Posts: 15382
Joined: November 26th, 2007, 12:28 pm
Location: Pemberton, NJ.

Re: Putting a A2 wiring harness on a 63

Postby acudanut » September 11th, 2018, 3:24 pm

rickf wrote:
acudanut wrote:"If it is an alternator and mechanical pump''. Never heard of an alternator (only Generator) on a M-151 ??? But...Don't say never...

This will make it easy to understand, Only the 25 amp unit is a generator that produces DC voltage. All of the rest of the charging units the M series uses are alternators that produce AC voltage that is converted to DC voltage through the use of built in diodes. 25 amp + generator, 60 amp and up = alternator.



RICK, I have sent you pic's of my 72 engine with a 60 amp Generator. are you saying they labeled a 60 amp alternator as a Generator ??
acudanut
USMC Gunny
USMC Gunny
 
7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership
 
Posts: 627
Joined: April 12th, 2011, 11:50 am
Location: Land of OZ, KANSAS

Re: Putting a A2 wiring harness on a 63

Postby rickf » September 11th, 2018, 5:42 pm

Yup.
1964 M151A1
1984 M1008
1967 M416
04/1952 M100
12/1952 M100- Departed
AN/TSQ-114A Trailblazer- Gone
rickf
General
General
 
10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership
 
Posts: 15382
Joined: November 26th, 2007, 12:28 pm
Location: Pemberton, NJ.

Re: Putting a A2 wiring harness on a 63

Postby acudanut » September 12th, 2018, 10:01 pm

I guess it makes sense, since they call a M-151 A truck. LOL
acudanut
USMC Gunny
USMC Gunny
 
7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership
 
Posts: 627
Joined: April 12th, 2011, 11:50 am
Location: Land of OZ, KANSAS

Re: Putting a A2 wiring harness on a 63

Postby redcoat54th » September 13th, 2018, 11:14 am

I am in the process of changing out my harness to an A2. I plan to update to a 60 amp unit to better handle the radio installation loads. You will also need to extend the front light wires by 6" or so to hook up to the A1 lights. Also cut out the stop light switch plug from your old harness and splice into the A2 harness (wire number #75). If you have vacuum wipers you will not need the wiper motor circuit. I am using a mechanical fuel pump in place of the vacuum pump therefore I will not need to run a separate wire for the electric fuel pump in the gas tank (you could use the wiper motor circuit but would have to run a new safety circuit to oil pressure safety switch and circuit breaker - not used on an A2. The rear harness has an extra wire because of the composite rear lights. I am going to install a second stop lamp for safety reasons to replace the blackout unit on my A1 which will plug right in using the A2 harness. the plan is to use red LED lamps for the stop function. The only other change will be the turn signal switch and flasher unit - these are spade lugs to a terminal strip on the old flasher unit and via a cannon plug on the newer units. As the wires are all numbered and lettered you can simply cut off the plug and crimp on new lugs so they fit the older unit. I am debating changing mine over to the new style for reliability which will cost around $125 or so. If you need more details let me know. Bob
British Army (Royal Signals). US Army 1st Air Cav (UH1H pilot)
Prime mover 1965 M151A1
Trailer M416
MVPA #37617
redcoat54th
Private
Private
 
3 years of membership3 years of membership3 years of membership
 
Posts: 8
Joined: July 5th, 2015, 3:43 pm

Re: Putting a A2 wiring harness on a 63

Postby Surveyor » September 13th, 2018, 3:29 pm

Good post Bob. This should be added into the wiki.
1960 M151 Run #1 (working on it)
"She ain't a Cadillac and she ain't a Rolls, But there ain't nothin' wrong with the radio" - Aaron Tippin
Image Image Image
User avatar
Surveyor
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
 
3 years of membership3 years of membership3 years of membership
 
Posts: 571
Joined: November 13th, 2015, 2:56 pm
Location: LA

Re: Putting a A2 wiring harness on a 63

Postby acudanut » September 15th, 2018, 9:06 am

Thanks for the tips Bob. :D
acudanut
USMC Gunny
USMC Gunny
 
7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership
 
Posts: 627
Joined: April 12th, 2011, 11:50 am
Location: Land of OZ, KANSAS

Re: Putting a A2 wiring harness on a 63

Postby redcoat54th » September 23rd, 2018, 5:49 pm

I have the A2 harness installed but not totally hooked up yet as I have pulled the power pack to repaint and refurbish. One big tip: do not throw the old harness away. Take the time to unwrap the wires and you will find many sections of good wire, splices, boots etc perfect for either extending the A2 harness for the front lights or later modifications or repairs. Bob
British Army (Royal Signals). US Army 1st Air Cav (UH1H pilot)
Prime mover 1965 M151A1
Trailer M416
MVPA #37617
redcoat54th
Private
Private
 
3 years of membership3 years of membership3 years of membership
 
Posts: 8
Joined: July 5th, 2015, 3:43 pm

Re: Putting a A2 wiring harness on a 63

Postby acudanut » September 23rd, 2018, 10:59 pm

How hard was it, doing the dash ?
acudanut
USMC Gunny
USMC Gunny
 
7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership7 years of membership
 
Posts: 627
Joined: April 12th, 2011, 11:50 am
Location: Land of OZ, KANSAS

Re: Putting a A2 wiring harness on a 63

Postby redcoat54th » September 24th, 2018, 1:25 pm

Dash was very easy. All the wire numbers are easy to get in the right place. The only mod I had to make was to save the old plug for the stop light switch. Saved it from the old harness and spliced it into the A2 harness. You will not need the windshield motor wire unless you have an A2 set-up. Hardest part of the whole operation is removing and replacing the wire harness from under the steering whee tube. Bob
British Army (Royal Signals). US Army 1st Air Cav (UH1H pilot)
Prime mover 1965 M151A1
Trailer M416
MVPA #37617
redcoat54th
Private
Private
 
3 years of membership3 years of membership3 years of membership
 
Posts: 8
Joined: July 5th, 2015, 3:43 pm


Return to Technical Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Customization by G838.org